Administrative Fellows Program



Penn State News Announcements:
2020-21 Administrative Fellows Program open for applications
Application deadline approaching for 2020-21 Administrative Fellows Program

Application Form and Program Resources

2020-2021 Administrative Fellows Program Mentor Information


2019-2020 Administrative Fellows


In May 2019, the University announced the three Administrative Fellows for 2019-20 and their mentors. They are:

Gary Chinn, Assistant Dean for Digital Learning and Director, Office of Digital Learning, College of Arts and Architecture
Mentor: Eric J. Barron, President



Lisa Kerchinski, Director of Career Development, Schreyer Honors College
Mentor: Mr. Zack Moore, Vice President for Government and Community Relations

Debra Thurley, Executive Director of Research Compliance, Office for Research Protections
Mentor: Dr. Nicholas P. Jones, Executive Vice President and Provost




Program Description and Related Documents, Forms, and Resources


The Administrative Fellows Program provides professional development opportunities for faculty and staff with standing appointments. By serving under the mentorship of a senior-level administrator, fellows receive opportunities to broaden their perspectives and experiences in higher-education administration. The fellowship experience enables participants to be more effective in their current University positions and provides a foundation for them to excel in future, higher-level jobs.

The program aims to:

  • identify faculty and staff who have the potential for effective leadership;
  • increase awareness of the complexity of issues facing higher education;
  • enhance understanding of the environment in which higher-education-related decisions are made; and
  • provide opportunities for participation in activities that facilitate enhanced understanding of careers in higher education.

Although participation in the program does not guarantee an appointment to an advanced or administrative position at the University, the program has increased the number of qualified women and minorities who are interested in pursuing careers in University administration.


Documents, Forms, and Resources (updated December 2019)


2020-2021 Administrative Fellows Program Application Form

Administrative Fellows Program Frequently Asked Questions 

2020-2021 Administrative Fellows Program Brochure 

Guidelines for Administrative Fellows, Mentors, and Assistants

2020-2021 Administrative Fellows Program Selection Committee

2019-2020 Administrative Fellows Program Planning Committee

Mentor Information: 2020-2021 Administrative Fellows Program


2018-2019 Administrative Fellows

Zuleima T. Karpyn
, Professor of Petroleum and Natural Gas Engineering, Program Chair for Petroleum and Natural Gas Engineering, Quentin E. and Louise L. Wood Faculty Fellow in Petroleum and Natural Gas Engineering, and FCMG Chair in Fluid Behavior and Rock Interactions; John and Willie Leone Family Department of Energy and Mineral Engineering; College of Earth and Mineral Sciences
Mentor: Dr. Nicholas P. Jones, Executive Vice President and Provost

Laurie Verost, Associate Director, Department of Student Affairs/Career Services
Mentor: Lawrence Lokman, Vice President for Strategic Communications

Lynette Yarger, Associate Professor, College of Information Sciences and Technology
Mentor: Michael Kubit, Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer